Tait to defend Mark Bostock Memorial Trophy

Tait to defend Mark Bostock Memorial Trophy

By Shamseer Jaleel

Ian Tait will defend the Mark Bostock Memorial Trophy which will take place on 7 and 8 May at the beautiful Victoria Golf and Country Resort at Rajawella.

This competition was inaugurated in 2008, and the trophy was donated by the Bostock family in memory of Mark Bostock, who passed away in tragic circumstances in the year 2000.

For record purposes this event has always been won by a member of Victoria Golf, despite being an open competition.

It will be Stableford competition as in the past with the main Trophy being awarded to the player with the best net score. There are also two ancillary prizes, the Ken Balendra Trophy for the best gross score by a gentleman, and the Tony Whitham Trophy for the best gross score by a lady.

Mark Bostock is well known as the first chairman of Rajawella Holdings, the owner of Victoria Golf and Country Resort. It was largely through his efforts that Victoria came into being which took good shape in 1992.

Mark Bostock was a fine rugby player who went on to represent Ceylon. He was also a keen cricketer and hockey player. When his rugby days were over he even qualified as a leading rugby referee.

List of past winners of the Mark Bostock Memorial Trophy is given below:

2008: Chris Holloway

2009: Azhar Ahamed

2010: Johan Taylor

2011: Bo Lindberg

2012: Sidath Wettimuny

2013: Harin Udeshi

2014: Stagen Gudrun

2015: Ian Tait

The only lady to win the Trophy was Stegan Gudrun in 2014. – See more at: http://www.ft.lk/article/538758/Tait-to-defend-Mark-Bostock-Memorial-Trophy#sthash.7T8fPYHT.dpuf